The East Tennessee State University Department of Art & Design and the Slocumb Galleries proudly present the Student Honor Show 2013 from April 22 to May 11 at the Slocumb Galleries.
This year’s juror is Jordan Ahlers, director of Blue Spiral Gallery at Asheville, N.C. The awarding reception is today from 5 to 7 p.m. at the Ernest C. Ball Hall Auditorium.
The awarding reception will announce the various winners and the art scholarship awardees. Johnson City Area Arts Council’s new Executive Director Suzanne Burik-Burleson is the guest of honor.
A special performance by the ETSU Music’s Double Reed Studio’s Katie Wright, Jessica Allison, Kaitlyn Flanery and Kyle Jones under Heather Killmeyer will be presented during the reception.
Up to $1,000 in cash and gift certificates will be awarded –  including the Nelson Fine Art Center Best of Show, the Faculty Choice Award, nine area merit awards, two foundation art awards and three TACA craft awards. Winning entries will also be featured at The Mockingbird literary and art magazine.
This year’s sponsors are: ETSU Faculty of Art & Design, Nelson Fine Art Center, Jerry’s Artarama of Knoxville, Tennessee Association of Craft Artists (TACA) State of Franklin Chapter, Mark Russell, Art & Design Sculpture Fund, Fletcher H. Dyer Graphic Design Memorial Fund, Wyatt J. Moody Printmaking Memorial Fund, Highwater Clays, Soleus Massage and Target with reception refreshments provided by Marco’s Pizza and Earth Fare.
The Slocumb Galleries are located at Ball Hall, along Sherrod Drive on ETSU’s campus. All events are open to the public free of charge.
Gallery hours are Mondays to Fridays, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. with extended hours during receptions and scheduled tours.
The Student Honor Show 2013 will also be open during the May 11 (graduation day) from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
For more information, contact Slocumb Galleries Director Karlota Contreras-Koterbay at or call 423.483.3179. or visit or the ETSU PlanIt Calendar (under Museum & Galleries or Visual Arts categories) for event updates.