Undergraduate art and design students are able to celebrate their creativity and excellence of work in the annual Student Honor Show. The ETSU Department of Art & Design and Slocumb Galleries with Friends of the Slocumb Galleries proudly presents the annual “Student Honor Show 2014” from April 14 to May 2. 

The awards reception with the announcement of the Art Scholarships is on April 17, Thursday, starting at 5:30 p.m. at the Ball Hall Auditorium. 

Bill May, executive director of the historic Arrowmont School of Arts & Crafts is the juror of the 2014 Student Honor Show.  

The top awards for Best of Show and Faculty Choice are recognized with nine Area Merit awards, two Foundations Art awards and three Craft Art awards. The Best of Show award is selected by the Juror and receives a cash prize from the Johnson City Are Arts Council. The Faculty Choice Award is selected by the faculty of the Department of Art & Design. 

All Slocumb Galleries’ events are open to the public with free admission, from Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. with extended hours on Thursday until 6 p.m., during receptions and ArtIfact lectures. 

Slocumb Galleries are located at the Ernest C. Ball Hall, 232 Sherrod Drive, ETSU campus. For more information, email gallery director Karlota Contreras-Koterbay at  contrera@etsu.edu or call (423) 483-3179.  Parking and handicapped access are available. 

For more information, please visit the ETSU PlanIt Calendar under Museum & Galleries category, www.etsu.edu/cas/art/slocumb or Friend the Slocumb Galleries on Facebook to receive event updates.