Gov. Bill Haslam announced the names of eight men and women Tuesday who will make up ETSU’s new Board of Trustees.

They are Janet Ayers, Steven DeCarlo, David Golden, Dorothy Grisham, Dr. Linda Latimer, Scott Niswonger, Jim Powell and Ron Ramsey. Fred Alsop, a professor in the ETSU College of Arts and Sciences, was named to the board as the faculty representative.

In an email sent to students on Monday, ETSU President Brian Noland said that he anticipates that the Tennessee General Assembly will hold confirmation hearings in March 2017 and that the Board of Trustees will meet for the first time in April 2017.

Haslam has been authorized to appoint governing boards to six public universities in Tennessee following the passage of the FOCUS Act earlier this year, which will transition governance from the Tennessee Board of Regents — an institution that oversees 13 community colleges, 27 colleges of applied technology and the six universities in question — to localized boards that will oversee a single university.

TBR will continue to manage its community colleges and TCATs.

“The trustees will have much to learn about the university and what it means to be a member of the board,” Noland said in the email. “At this time, I would ask that we be mindful that our Board of Trustees has not been officially seated and, until the installation next spring, we will continue to be governed by the Tennessee Board of Regents.”