The Student Government Association is already looking ahead at end of year activities.

Each week on Instagram, SGA shares an “SGA member of the week” to highlight an individual who has shown extraordinary dedication to the association. This member is chosen by the SGA President. However, the Tait Obadiah White Award is chosen by all SGA members to celebrate a member for the whole year.

The award is in memory and honor of Tait Obadiah White. White was a student at ETSU from 2011 to 2012 and served on SGA as a senator. He unexpectedly died in 2012 from a heart condition. The award is meant to celebrate students that share White’s dedication to leadership, spreading happiness, helpfulness and generosity.

“The senate honored him [in 2012] by naming the award after him,” SGA Advisor Jeff Howard said. “He was a very high-energy person, very dedicated to his commitments, and so they named an award, and it goes to the person who kind of embodies the spirit of student government.”

SGA members cast their votes for the award during Tuesday’s meeting. The award is presented during the Summit Awards. This year’s awards ceremony is April 24.

SGA also awards the Ronald and Edith Carrier Student Government Leadership Award, which is awarded by Howard. This award includes a monetary gift as well. It was established by its namesakes who served together on ETSU’s SGA and later were president and first lady at James Madison University.

In addition to the Tait Obadiah White and Ronald and Edith Carrier Student Government Leadership awards, SGA also awards a Student Government Association Medal, Cabinet Member of the Year, Associate Justice of the Year and Senator of the Year awards.

However, SGA has a lot planned before awards are handed out. Several SGA events will take place before the end of the semester, including the Juicy J concert on Saturday, civility week, faculty/staff appreciation week and SGA elections. New legislation is also being drafted.